Ablrate Review
Return Rate 5
Overall Safety 3
Asset Security 4
Time in Business 4
Lazy Investor Rating 2

12%+ Annual Returns Available By Lending On Secured Assets Like Private Jets & Luxury Yachts

Summary 3.6 good

Ablrate Review

Updated on

12%+ Annual Returns Easily Obtainable By Lending On Secured Assets Like Private Jets & Power Generating Stations! – Ablrate Peer to Peer Lender (P2P) Review

My Lending Experiences & Actual Investment Returns Published Monthly Below.

 

Who or What is Ablrate P2P?

Ablrate is a medium size, UK based Peer to Peer lender. 

Providing loans mostly to businesses on a selection of interesting assets from private jets, luxury yachts and power generating stations, to property development and bridging loans.

Offering annual returns of up to 15% on secured loans, Ablrate have a unique spin on Peer to Peer lending and offer some of the best rates in the business for secured lending.

Ablrate’s loan flow is unfortunately quite slow, so it’s hard to diversify into a lot of different loans. This means you will need to do due diligence on each loan you decide to invest in to ensure you are comfortable with the asset value provided and the terms available for the loan. 

That being said, Ablrate P2P have a very good reputation and history with the Peer to Peer lending community and their loans are known as some of the safer asset secured loans where borrowers are vetted very well by Ablrate with very in-depth due diligence.

Ablrate are also known for having very good default recovery success on the limited number of loans that have defaulted on their platform.

 

My Experience With Ablrate So Far……..

My experience with Ablrate since day one has been very positive. I started out small in order to see how the platform worked and to study their high paying loans and decide how safe they are.

Now after lending with them for a couple of years, I have realized Ablrate are a great find as far as high-return platforms go. So much so that I have increased my investment with them five fold recently, and will continue to add capital as new loans come out up to my diversification limit.

Although they are a viable investment option for very good returns. Lending out larger amounts of capital will either take a reasonable knowledge of asset value, and understanding of corporate accounts and credit risks etc. Or, as more is the case with me, a high level of trust in the Ablrate team and platform, that they will do the best due-diligence on my behalf. Then I ensure I diversify capital appropriately to mitigate risk. 

As I have become more comfortable with Ablrate, watching their loans, and more importantly communicating with their team. I am getting that level of comfort which has allowed me to increase my investment significantly.

As mentioned earlier, their rates are some of the best in the business for asset secured loans, so it would be hard to let the opportunity pass.

Latest Update June 4th 2020 – COVID-19 P2P Strategy

Ablrate seem to be overall unaffected by this whole ordeal. I’m sure they have been affected but they are certainly not showing it like some of the others. Monthly payments on the whole seem to be coming in (there are some delays but not much it seems). I decided to sell a couple of loans with higher LTV’s and they sold quite easily so it seems like there is still investment capital coming in to Ablrate.

My Ablrate Strategy.

I’ll be leaving the rest of my capital with them for now as it seems Ablrate are handling things very well. I am gaining trust with them each month.

 

 

Visit The Ablrate Website

 

 

 

The Obvious Investor – Easy-Info Table© – Ablrate Review

Overall Rating*:3.6 out of 5 stars (3.6 / 5)
Who can invest:
Loan Currencies:£  
Estimated Return:6% to 15%
My Actual Return
(Per Lender):
12.00%
My Calculated XIRR: 13.11%
Risk Rating*:5/10 -Medium    5 out of 10 stars
Early Exit:Yes.
Secondary Market.
Min. Investment:£1 for account.

Min Amt Per Loans Varies.
Deposit Funds:By Bank Transfer or Debit Card.

Usually same day.
Auto-Invest:No
Manual Invest:Yes
Lending To:Agreements directly with borrowers
Loan Types:Various Asset Secured Loans.

Corporate Aircraft, Generating Stations,
Property Development etc.
Default Rates:Not Published.
Loans Amortize:Some do but not all.

Some interest only.
Loan Security:Yes, most loans asset secured.
Provision Fund:No
Time to Invest:Manual
Time to Mange:Manual
Lender Fees:No.
Payments Received:Interest or Interest and Capital Received Monthly.

Depending on loan type.
Amount Lent:Not Published.
Number of Investors:Not Published.
Loan/Dflt Stats:Not Published.
Regulated:Yes: FCA
Location: Henley-on-Thames, UK
Launched:August 2014
Website:www.ablrate.com
Email:[email protected]
Telephone:01491 410 400 (UK)
IFISA/IRA:Yes. ISA
Cashback**:Yes! £50 cashback for £1,000 investment
Learn More >>
How to Sign Up**:Sign Up Here!

 

Ablrate Review – Overview

Abltate Plaform History

Ablrate’s Peer to Peer business was incorporated in February 2014 and their platform was launched in July 2014 in Henley-on-Thames, UK.

Ablrate do not publish their lending figures as far as amounts lent out and default statistics. So I am unable to publish that information for this lender, however as far as I understand, default rates are very low. Default recovery has been very well handled.

Their last filed financial accounts are publicly available from Companies House.  

 

Is Ablrate Regulated?

Ablrate P2P (AKA Aviation and Tech Capital Ltd.) are regulated by the UK’s Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) with full permissions under FCA number 724444  

They gained FCA permissions in March, 2017.

It’s important to note that the FCA is not the same as the FSCS (Financial Services Compensation Scheme), so capital is not protected as it would be in a bank.

FCA Auth Screenshot

 

How to Signup with Ablrate & Open An Account.

Opening an account with Ablrate is fairly easy. Just the usual ID and anti-money laundering checks.

If they can verify you though one of the UK’s credit agencies, you may be approved immediately. If not, you may need to send them a copy of your passport or driving license, and a utility bill or bank statement.

Any resident of the UK who is 18 years old or over can signup with Ablrate if they can pass the ID checks & anti-money laundering checks.

A UK bank account is also required to signup. 

Signup Screenshot - Ablrate Review

 

How Are Deposits & Withdrawals Made? – Ablrate Review

Deposits are made by bank transfer from a UK bank or a debit card drawn on a UK bank.

Typically card deposits are in your account immediately and bank transfers show up in your account the same or next working day depending on the time you send them.

Withdrawals are directly to a UK bank and can typically take 1 – 2 business  days.

P2P Deposit Screenshot - Ablrate Review

 

Withdraw Screenshot

 

 

 

How Long Does It Take To Distribute Capital? – Ablrate Review

Ablrate P2P loans are all self-select manual investments. No auto-invest accounts. So loans must be selected and invested into individually.

When you choose “Available Loans” from the main screen menu, you can see loans that are still available for investment on the primary market.

Ablrate P2P Available loans Screenshot - Ablrate Review

 

As you can see in the screenshot above, there are currently only two loans available for investment. One of the loans is a standard Self Select Loan, and the other is an Ablrate Portfolio Loan.

Portfolio Loans are a new type of loan offered by Ablrate P2P. The description of how these loans work are here on Ablrate’s website and an overview is below.

 

Ablrate Peer to Peer Portfolio Loan Description

 

 

 

Who Are We Lending To With Ablrate?

Ablrate is a true Peer to Peer platform.

Lenders are lending directly to borrowers who are typically small to medium size British businesses.

Loan agreements are directly between the lender and the borrower. Ablrate just acts as a middle man, managing loans, payments and debt collection etc.

 

What Loan Security Do Abrate Loans Offer? – Ablrate Review

Ablrate provide very good and detailed information about their loans & loan security. Including detailed explanations of the deal and descriptions of assets, including LTV’s and all documents associated with the valuation.

Also available are borrower credit documents and all other documentation relating to a specific asset such as ecological reports and flood assessments depending upon the asset in question.

Ablrate P2P Loan Details Screenshot - Ablrate Review

Ablrate Peer to Peer Lender - Available Loan Documents Screenshot

 

 

Here is a list of a few of my current Ablrate P2P loans:

Ablrate Loan List - Ablrate P2P Reivew

 

You can see the top-level information on each loan. And when you drill down, you can see the detailed information is still available, and it is updated regularly.

I know this is probably one screenshot too many for a review, but I wanted to show the different loans available, and who doesn’t want to brag that they own (part of) a private jet. Even if it is being broken up for parts 🙂

You’ll notice below the red number “1” indicating a new document is available for this loan. 

 

Again if you switch to the “Documents” tab, you’ll see that a new document is available for download (in this case the document was added in 2018 but it was after the loan was established).

Ablrate Peer to Peer Loan Details Screenshot 2 - Ablrate Review

Ablrate P2P Loan Details Screenshot - Ablrate Review

 

What Annual Returns Can We Expect With Ablrate?

If we choose the loans carefully, there is good reason to conservatively expect Ablrate annual returns of between 10% & 15%. My returns over the past 18 months or so have averaged around 14%.

 

When Do Ablrate Loans Start To Pay Interest?

Many (but not all) Ablrate loans pay what they call “Instant Returns” which means they start paying interest as soon as you invest, before the loan is even drawn down by the borrower. Others loans start to pay interest after the loan is drawn down.

You can always see on the loan thumbnail and loan details if this loans is an “Instant Returns” loan.

 

Visit The Ablrate Website

 

Do Ablrate Loans Amortize?

Many of Ablrate’s loans amortize, meaning you receive capital and interest payments every month. Many loans are interest only though, mostly the shorter term bridging loans and capital equipment loans. The interest only loans tend to have higher return rates associated with them as they are typically classed as higher risk.

When loans amortize, it reduces loan risk compared to a non-amortizing loan, in which nothing is received until the end of the loan period, or only interest is received monthly and then the capital repaid at the end of the loan period.

Amortization is the paying off of debt with a fixed repayment schedule in regular installments over time. It is an accounting technique used to lower the cost value of a finite life or intangible asset incrementally through scheduled charges to income.

It’s easy to see if Ablrate’s P2P loans amortize from the detail on the loans listing screen where it is clearly marked.

Ablrate P2P Amortizing Loan Detail Screenshot - Ablrate Review

 

 

How To Sell Loans & Withdraw Capital Early From Ablrate.

Selling loans is done through the Ablrate Secondary MarketAblrate has a very active secondary market where you can buy and sell loans.

There is even the ability to bid on loans at a price you want to pay. Or offer loans you want to sell at a price you’re comfortable with. 

Ablrate Peer to Peer Lender Secondary Market Screenshot - Ablrate Review

Ablrate P2P Secondary Market Screenshot - Ablrate Review

 

The Ablrate P2P secondary market is a little complicated. However once you get the hang of using it, it’s not so bad.

It is actually very versatile once you understand it. Enabling you to name the price you want to pay for a loan through bidding.

I actually bought most of my loans on the secondary market.

I placed low-ball bids on some loans which got accepted after a couple of weeks. This makes the actual return rate higher than it would have been purchasing the loans when they were initially offered. You can see on the bids and offers screen what rates are equivalent to different sales and purchase prices.

 

How Easy Is It To Diversify With Ablrate Loans? – Ablrate Review

Because Ablrate loans are all self-select loans, diversification is a manual process.

As mentioned previously, although Ablrate  loans are very well secured, their loan flow is not huge. So if you have a lot of capital to invest, you’re going to end up with more than you would probably like to have in each loan.

So best to make sure you do due diligence to a level your comfortable with before investing any of your hard-earned capital.

 

Does Ablrate Have A Provision Fund Or Buyback Guarantee? 

There is no provision fund or buyback guarantee with Ablrate.

You are relying on the Ablrate lending team’s due-diligence, your ability to seek out safe profitable loans, and the asset security on the loan it’self in case of default. 

 

Is There An Ablrate Tax Free ISA / IFISA Account?

The Ablrate Innovative Finance ISA ( Ablrate IFISA) was launched in August 2017 for UK residents enabling tax free investments for Peer to Peer lenders.

Ablrate P2P ISA Screenshot - Ablrate Review

What Is The Ablrate Website Like? – Ablrate Review

Ablrate’s website is relativity easy to use. Everything makes sense and is easy to access.

All of the account information is right there in front of you on the main account screen all laid out in a manner which is self explanatory.

Ablrate Account Screenshot - Ablrate P2P Review

My Ablrate Investment & Lending Strategy

The investment strategy I use with Ablrate is based mostly on the trust I have of the team and platform. When initially investing in the primary and secondary market, I took one loan from each borrower (many borrowers on the Ablrate platform have multiple loans associated with them). The only real due diligence I did was to look at historical payments to ensure they were all on-time (on the secondary market). The asset security, LTV ratios and what the asset valuations looked like (just really a Google & guess as I’m no professional in that area).

I also Google’d the borrowers company to see what else I could find on them, as well as the locations of any assets to see if I could identify them on Google earth (just inquisitive). I checked with Companies House to make sure all filings had been done in a timely manner & to see the latest company accounts. Then I put around £500 into each loan (one loan from each borrower as I mentioned previously). I could have diversified more by putting a smaller amount into multiple loans from each borrower.

I figure if the loan I’m in goes bad, the lender will likely cover any losses providing they are still in business. If not, then I’m guessing being in a lot of loans would help to diversify, but I just didn’t have the time to check out every loan. There are a lot of them. You can see the list of my current loans on the screenshot earlier in this Ablrate review. 

 

Summary – Ablrate Review

Overall I think Ablrate’s loans are a good option for diversification with high rates achievable if you take the time to do due diligence on each loan & get to know & trust in the Ablrate team.

All of Ablrate’s loans are secured by assets typically with good LTV’s (Loan to Value ratios). So even if you were to make a mistake on a loan, you would likely still get your capital back. It just might take a while if it has to go through a long legal situation. Ablrate have an excellent history of low defaults, but more importantly of recovering capital promptly when things go bad. 

There are not too many high-return lenders out there who are genuinely focused on investor capital preservation and ensuring the best returns possible for their lenders. I believe Ablrate are one of the better platforms with these qualities and I intend to slowly increase my investment as new loans come up moving forward. 

 

 

Thumbs Up Points for Ablrate

  • Great Returns – returns of 12% – 15% on secured assets with good LTV’s.

  • Interesting Diverse Loans – loaning on items like private jets and boats is out of the norm for Peer to Peer lending, so it enables you to diversify away from the typical bricks & mortar assets.

  • Low minimum investment – There is no minimum to open an account. Minimum investment in loans is on a case-by-case basis but is typically small.

  • Good Default Recovery – Ablrate Peer to Peer have a good history of recovering on defaults, which is good to know when things go bad.

  • Tax Free Innovative Finance ISA (IFISA) – the Ablrate ISA is available for tax free investing.

  • Financial Conduct Authority – (FCA) Regulated.

 

 

Thumbs Down Points for Ablrate

  • Smaller Company – with shorter track record, launched in 2014 Ablrate are still proving themselves. Surviving for 6 years in the Peer to Peer sector is no small feat though.

  • Low New Loan Flow – Loan flow is very sporadic.  I’ve only been lending with them for a couple of years now but loans have averaged only one to two new loans per month so far.

  • Smaller Loan Book – This is really just a function of the last bullet point, not many loans with too many investors trying to get them.

  • Secondary Market Complex – can take a while to get familiar with using the secondary market. Although once you do, it’s very flexible and enables you to increase your return rates if you’re patient enough to bid on loans.

  • Manual Investing Only – time consuming and requires due diligence to pick out the best loans.

 

Visit The Ablrate Website

 

Ablrate P2P Overall Safety & Risk Factor – 5/10 – Medium

5 out of 10 stars

Low to Med Risk Traffic Light

Is Ablrate Safe? I consider Ablrate’s P2P platform to be in the middle area of the risk scale.

Even taking in to consideration that loans are asset secured, they are still a smaller company. Plus with a smaller loan-book, it’s harder to diversify to minimize risk. There is a very active secondary market to help with diversifying capital though, as well as being able to increase returns by bidding on loans.

 

Who Can Invest with Ablrate?
    

UK residents with a U.K. bank account can invest with Ablrate. Contact Ablrate for further information.

 

 

Ablrate Bonus & Signup Links**

Use the link below when you sign-up with Ablrate and receive £50 cashback bonus on your first investment of £1000 or more.

Click here to qualify for the Ablrate cashback bonus >>

Or

Click Here to Visit The Ablrate Website

 

Similar Lenders to Ablrate

Unbolted, Funding Circle, LendingCrowd, CrowdProperty

 

 

 

 

Who Are the Best Peer to Peer Lenders In An Economic Downturn?

 

Click here to get my complementary Best Lenders List

 

 

 

Would You Like A Copy of the Spreadsheet I Use for Tracking P2P Lenders?

Tracking Spreadsheet Graphic

Click here to receive a free copy of my P2P Lender Tracking Spreadsheet

 

 

 

 

 

New to Peer to Peer Lending?

All About Peer to Peer Lending

Learn About Peer to Peer Lending

 

 

Ready to Get Started??

Peer to Peer Lending Guide

See My Where to Start Guide.

 

 

Disclaimers:

* My opinions, reviews, star ratings and risk ratings are based on my personal investing experience with the company being reviewed. These ratings are personal opinions and are subjective. You should do your own research before investing any capital and not base investments solely on the opinions published on this site. 

**  Some of the links on this website are affiliate referral links. When you click on these links, I can sometimes receive a commission, at absolutely no cost to you. This helps me to continue to offer new reviews and monthly portfolio updates here on my website. I don’t receive commissions from all lenders and it has no effect on my ongoing opinions on lenders. Income on my investments and capital preservation are my main motivations.

Platforms reviewed on this website I am currently investing with, or I have invested with in the past. You can see with full transparency on my Lending Returns page which lenders I am invested with (or have previously been invested with) at any point in time. I am not paid a fee by any of the companies to write reviews, so the reviews are unbiased and purely based on my own personal experiences.

Please read my full website Disclaimer before making investment decisions.

 

logo

Related posts

Growth Street Review

Growth Street Review

Growth Street Declares "Resolution Event" for Retail Investors & Moves in to the Institutional Space. - Growth Street Review 

P2P Lending Portfolio Update For May 2020

P2P Lending Portfolio Update For May 2020

  Again very little has changed in the P2P sector since the April update. I've discussed the changes and updates from individual lenders below.  At a high level, I'm still invested at about 50% of my highest number with around £110,000 in GB Pound P2P investments (from a high of...

Lending Works Review

Lending Works Review

Lending Works Reduces Staff and Freezes Capital for 90 Days

6 Comments

  1. [email protected] 12th May 2019

    Hi Mark,

    Thanks for writing about your opinion on Ablrate. Your reviews are always well-detailed, transparent and honest which makes them worth the read.

    I’m thinking about joining Ablrate, but I am a bit sceptical, as I am assuming at a first glance that the risks may be quite high on this platform?

    It seems like the information (financials) about their loan originators is clearly and transparently shown, isn’t it?

    Do you know whether Abrate is profitable at the moment?

    Thanks for your time.

    Enjoy the Portuguese weather 😉

    • Mark 13th May 2019

      Hi Tony,

      Thanks for the comment!

      I think Ablrate is probably a little more risky than say Assetz Capital or Kuflink, however probably not as risky as you would think. Pretty much all of their loans are asset secured and they have very few defaults, and a great record of collecting on defaults when they do happen.

      The returns they offer certainly are worth the risk in my opinion. I’ve done quite a bit of research on Ablrate and the consensus is that their returns are about the best of the UK lenders for the risk taken. This is from seasoned Ablrate lenders who I’ve had discussions with.

      There is indeed plenty of information available on each loan, so you’ll need to do your research to ensure you understand what you’re getting into. The biggest issue with Ablrate is their number of loans. It’s difficult to get diversified, so if you’re going to invest a lot of capital, you’ll really need to pay attention to the details on each loan.

      I hear Ablrate are profitable, however because they are a smaller company they don’t need to file much information with Companies House, so I don’t have any figures proving that they are profitable.

      Hope that helps,

      Mark

      • Tony @ OneMillionJourney 16th May 2019

        Hey Mark,

        Thanks that’s very helpful. It’s good to confirm that there are profitable from David’s comment. I’ve registered through your link.

        • Mark 16th May 2019

          Hi Tony,

          Yes indeed. It’s good that they could confirm that info. for us.

          Thanks for using my link to register!

          Cheers,

          Mark

  2. David 15th May 2019

    Thanks for the review – just to clarify: Fees (turnover) have grown over 150% per annum since inception. Last year we turned over £1.75 million and reinvested most of the cash with a £30k profit made.

    • Mark 15th May 2019

      Hi [email protected]

      Thanks for the comment and clarification on the numbers!

      It’s good to know you guys are keeping an eye on the review. It helps to keep me honest 🙂

      Please feel free to comment if anything else is not accurate. I’ll be happy to update the review accordingly.

      Cheers,

      Mark

Comments are closed.