Lending Works Review
Return Rate 4
Overall Safety 5
Asset Security 3
Time in Business 4
Lazy Investor Rating 5

My ongoing investing experiences and unbiased Lending Works review. One of the UK’s safest Peer to Peer lenders offering returns of up to 6%

Summary 4.2 great

Lending Works Review

Updated May 2019 – Lending Works Review

How I Make Safe, Easy 6%+ Annual Returns From One Of The Safest Peer to Peer Lenders!

My Lending Experiences & Actual Investment Returns Published Monthly Below.

 

 

What is Lending Works?

Lending Works is a medium to large size Peer to Peer lender. Offering up to 6.5% returns, with little to no time required to manage investments.

Loaning capital to consumers for personal loans, debt consolidation, car finance, home improvement, wedding loans and holiday loans among others.

Lending Works is one of the safer Peer to Peer lenders out there and a good option for investors looking for a hands-off investing experience with reasonable returns for the risk.

They also offer a retirement plan for tax free investing; Lending Works ISA.

 

My Actual Account Growth & Income Charts

 

 

View Consolidated Monthly Investment Returns from All Lenders

Click Here to See Screenshots & Detailed Monthly Updates From My Personal Lending Works Account

 

 

The Obvious Investor – Easy-Info Table -Lending Works Review

Overall Rating*:4.2 out of 5 stars (4.2 / 5)
Who can invest:   
Loan Currencies:£  
Estimated Return:5.0% to 6.5% depending on account.
My Actual Return
(Per Lender):
6.19%
My Calculated XIRR:5.33%
Risk Rating*:2/10 - Low    2 out of 10 stars
Early Exit:Yes. Exit fee is the greater of 0.6% of the amount or £20
Min. Investment:£10 minimum classic accounts. £5000 ISA
Deposit Funds:UK bank account 24-48 hours.
Debit card - usually same day.
Auto-Invest:Yes
Manual Invest:No
Lending To:Borrowers
Loan Types:Personal consumer loans.
Debt consolidation, car finance, home improvement,
wedding loans and holiday loans among others.
Default Rates:Bad debt at 2.2% against an estimated rate of 3.8%.
No lender has lost capital.
Loan Security:No
Provision Fund:Yes: Lending Works Shield. One of the best in the business.
Loans Amortize:Yes. Full amortization.
Time to Invest:Medium: Can be up to 2 weeks depending on loan supply.
Time to Mange:None (auto-invest).
Lender Fees:No.
When are Payments Received:Monthly. Various times.
Amount Lent:£170m +
Number of Investors:5700+
Loan/Dflt Stats:Click Here for Stats
Regulated:Yes: FCA #723151
Location:London, UK.   
Launched:Jan 2014
Website:https://www.lendingworks.co.uk
Email:[email protected]
Telephone:020 7096 8512 (UK)
IFISA/IRA:Yes: IFISA
Cashback**:Yes! £50 Cashback! Click here for further information.
How to Sign Up**:Sign Up Here!

 

Lending Works – Overview

History

Lending Works launched in January of 2014. In the 5 years or so they have been in business, they have lent almost £170 million to consumers throughout the UK.

They currently have over 5,700 active investors, with an average account value of almost £23,000 per lender.

Loans have an average diversification of 320 loans per lender.

 

Lending Works Earn Up To Screen Shot

 

Regulation

Lending Works are regulated by the UK’s Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) with full permissions under FCA number 723151.  They gained FCA permissions in October, 2016.

It’s important to note that the FCA is not the same as the FSCS (Financial Services Compensation Scheme), so capital is not protected as it would be in a bank.

Lending Works FCA Screenshot

 

Signup Process

Opening an account is fairly easy, whether it’s a standard taxable account or the Lending Works ISA.

Just the usual ID & anti money-laundering checks. If they can verify you though one of the UK’s credit agencies, you will be approved immediately. If not, you may need to send them a copy of your passport or driving license, and a utility bill or bank statement.

Residents of any European country can signup, however you will need UK bank account details.

If you don’t have a UK bank account, see my TransferWise Borderless Account review for more information on how it may be possible to get UK banking details even if you’re not a UK resident.

Lending Works Signup Screenshot

 

Deposits & Withdrawals – Lending Works Review

Deposits and withdrawals are made by bank transfer from a UK bank, or a UK debit card.

From a bank account, deposits usually show up in your account the same or next working day.

Debit card deposits are typically the same day, depending on what time you make the deposit.

Withdrawals are only to a verified bank account and typically take 2 – 3- business  days.

 

Lending Works Deposit Screenshot

 

Time to Become Invested

It can take from a few days, to a couple of weeks to get funds completely invested into loans.

Lending Works loans are in great demand, so there can be a lot of money in the queue before you.

New funds always fall behind reinvested funds in the queue, which is good once you are fully invested as your funds get invested first. But not so good when you first deposit your funds as you have to wait your turn.

Lending Works do not pay interest on un-invested funds, so the cash drag can get a bit frustrating at first. Once you’re in though, reinvestment is fast.

It’s always easy to see from the main account screen what the current matching times are.

Lending Works Account Screenshot 4.2 for Review Update May 2019

 

 

Click on the “Offers” drop-down to see what offers are for reinvestment of capital, and what are new offers.

Lending Works Account Screenshot 1 for Review Update May 2019

 

 

Who are we lending to?

Lending Works is a true Peer to Peer platform. Lenders are lending directly to borrowers.  Lending Works just acts as a middle man, managing loans, payments and debt collection etc.

Loans are provided to consumers for debt consolidation, car finance, personal loans, home improvement, wedding loans and holiday loans among others.

 

Loan Security– Lending Works Review

Loans are mostly unsecured personal loans to credit-worthy borrowers, however they are all covered by the Lending Works Shield (discussed further down the review in the “Provision Fund” section).

 

Default Rates

Lifetime bad debt rates currently stand at 2.2%, against an estimated rate of 3.8%. This doesn’t affect investment returns as defaults are all covered by the provision fund.

Lending Works Default Rates Screenshot

 

 

Amortization – Lending Works Review

Generally, Lending Works personal loans all amortize. 

Amortization is the paying off of debt with a fixed repayment schedule in regular installments over time. This reduces the risk of the loan compared to a non-amortizing loan in which nothing is received until the end of the loan period, or only interest is received monthly, and then the capital repaid at the end of the loan period.

 

If you list the loans that your capital is invested in on their website, you can see that both capital and interest are being repaid.

Lending Works Account Screenshot 2 for Review Update May 2019

 

Selling Loans and Withdrawing Capital

There is an exit fee for withdrawing capital early. It is the greater of either 0.6% of the amount, or £20.

Selling loans and withdraw capital can take anywhere from a few minutes to a few days in normal market conditions.

 

Lending Crowd Withdrawl Screenshot

 

Diversification

Diversifying loans is something Lending Works does automatically. Because of the way their platform works, diversification is all done in the background.

Diversification is not as important with Lending Works as it is with some other platforms as they have the Lending Works Shield, part of which is designed to diversify risk automatically for all investors.  See below under “Provision Fund” for more information.

 

 

Provision Fund

The Provision fund is called the “Lending Works Shield” and is one of the best in the business. It protects its investors from bad debt and defaults in several ways.

The first is it’s reserve fund which covers every consumer-funded loan in case of late payments or default.

Next is a very unique insurance policy that is backed by 3 of the UK’s largest insurance companies. Each with a balance sheet of more than £2bn.

The insurance policy protects and pays the borrowers loan payments in the event of loss of employment, accident or sickness. Or in the unfortunate event of the borrower’s death.

Another protection beyond the Lending Works Shield is, if there was a default that the shield somehow can’t cover, and capital was to be lost (has never happened so far), the defaulted investments would be put in to a pool and each investor would be party to that loss.

Pooling loans takes away the focus from a few investors that were part of the loan. Obviously it is beneficial because it spreads the losses between thousands of investors, instead of just a few having to take a big hit.

Another point that Lending Works likes to note is their rigorous borrower screening process and higher credit-quality borrowers.

 

 

Retirement Account

Lending Works offers an Innovative Finance ISA – The Lending Works ISA, which was launched in January 2017 for UK residents.

The minimum investment for their Lending Works ISA is £5000.

Lending Works ISA Screen Shot for Lending Works Review

 

 

Website – Lending Works Review

The Lending Works website is easy to use.

You simply choose which account you want to lend with, the term, then put money into the “Offers” wallet, and that’s it!

Don’t forget to go to the “Lending Settings” screen and set automatic reinvestment of capital and interest to reduce cash drag.

Lending Works Lending Settings Screenshot for Review Update May 2019

 

 

Lending Accounts

Lending Works offers 2 lending accounts. The first currently offering 5% return for loans up to 3 years.

The second account is a portfolio offering 6.5% for loans up to 5 years (as of May 2019). 

Withdrawing your capital before the end of the loan agreement period will require a 0.6% payment of the amount withdrawn.

It’s easy to see the loans you’re invested in. Just click on the “View Loans” drop-down from the main account screen

Lending Works Account Screenshot 4.1 for Review Update May 2019

 

 

Then you can see everything you’re invested into, plus your balance and average weighted interest rate.

Lending Works Account Screenshot 3 for Review Update May 2019

 

However that’s all the information on the loan you get access to. No details on loans at all.

I think that’s OK though because as it’s all automatic investing through Lending Works, even if you had more information on the loan, what difference would it make because it’s not like you had any part in making the decision on investing in it.

Plus everything is covered by the Lending Works Shield which spreads any loan losses between all investors. So no single loan can affect a lenders account substantially. 

 

 

Summary – Lending Works Review

My experience with Lending Works so far has been very positive. I use them as part of my overall diversification strategy and they are one of my largest accounts.

Lending Works are a safer, legit peer to peer lender in my opinion. The loan return rate of 6.5% is very good considering their safety record (no lender has ever lost capital), and their Lending Works Shield provision fund protection.

I also like the fact they mostly loan to consumers, as most of the peer to peer lenders seem to be leaning more towards businesses these days. Business lending is inherently more dangerous than lending to consumers, and diversification between loan types is a welcome part of lending.

 

 

Thumbs Up Points for Lending Works

Thumbs Up

  • Safety – Is Lending Works Safe? They are thought to be one of the safest P2P lenders in the U.K. To date, no lender has lost any of their capital, and the “Lending Works Shield” should cover almost all possible losses under normal market conditions.

  • Auto-Invest – means virtually no time managing investments. Just send your money over, decide which portfolio you would like to invest in (3 year or 5 year). Once your money is invested, set the reinvestment switch, and you can sit back and watch the interest come in!

  • Good Rates – from one of the larger, safer peer to peer companies, the ability to get as much as 6.5% (as of May 2019) is very appealing.

  • Website – the Lending Works website is very easy to use and understand. Some P2P websites leave a lot to be desired.

  • Large Investments – because their loan book is big, it can easily gobble up large amounts of capital, again reducing cash drag for larger investors.

  • £500 minimum investment – if your portfolio is still small, or you would prefer to start out slowly, it’s still easy to invest with Lending Works

  • Financial Conduct Authority – (FCA) Regulated.

  • Innovative Finance ISA (IFISA) – available for UK investors – Lending Works ISA

 

 

Thumbs Down Points for Lending Works

Thumbs Down

  • Initial Investment Time – It can take a couple of weeks to get your money invested initially. Depending on how much money is in line before yours. Reinvestment (repayments from prior loans) are invested in the new loans before new money is invested. This is a good thing once your in to the system, but can slow things down a bit for a new investor.

  • Exit Fees –  .06% or minimum £20 (plus any difference in rates between current rates and the rates of the loan you are selling).  This can be seen as a bit of a negative, but where else can you get 6.5% return on your money and still be able to get out in an emergency?

  • Unsecured Loans – many (but not all) of the Lending Works loans are unsecured loans given to individuals or businesses, so if things were to go bad, you don’t have any collateral. So is Lending Works Safe? In theory, yes as the Lending Works Shield should take care of defaults, so this shouldn’t matter. 

 

Risk Factor – 2/10 – Low

2 out of 10 stars

Risk Low Traffic Light                Lending Works Trust Pilot Reviw

Is Lending Works Safe? I consider them be on the lower end of the risk scale.

They would get a lower rating except for the fact that many of their loans are unsecured. In most market conditions this is irrelevant, but in a severe recession it could come in to play, even with their Shield.

Either way, I have no worries about investing a significant portion of my portfolio with Lending Works.

 

 

Who Can Invest with Lending Works?

  

Residents of most European countries with a U.K.  bank account (see review on TransferWise Borderless Account) can invest with Lending Works. Contact Lending Works for further information.

 

 

Offers & Signup Links**

 

New Customers receive £50 cashback when they join Lending Works and invest £1000 or more using the links here on ObviousInvestor.com

Click here for more information on Lending Works £50 cashback offer >>

Signup for Lending Works standard account >>

Open a Lending Works ISA account >>

 

 

Similar Lenders to Lending Works

Growth Street,  Landbay,  Loanpad,  RateSetter 

 

 

Who Are The Top Peer to Peer Lenders?

Click here to get my complementary Top 4 Lenders List

 

 

Would you like a copy of the Excel Spreadsheet I use for tracking my P2P investments?

Click here to receive a free copy of my Excel Spreadsheet

 

 

New to Peer to Peer Lending?

Learn About Peer to Peer Lending

 

Ready to Get Started Lending?

See My Where to Start Guide.

 

 

Disclaimers:

* My opinions on ratings and risk rating factors refer to my personal experiences with a company or account. Including factual data such as interest rates, loan types, security, platform history, default numbers etc.

** I’m not paid by any company to review them, nor am I employed by any of the companies I review. In most cases, I am actively investing my own personal capital through these companies which you can see with full transparency on my Lending Returns page. Some of the sign-up links on this website are referral links. When you click on these links, I may receive a small commission, at absolutely no cost to you. Your support helps me to run this website and continue to offer new reviews and portfolio updates.

Please read my full website Disclaimer before making investment decisions.

 

logo

Related posts

P2P Lending Portfolio Update For May 2019

P2P Lending Portfolio Update For May 2019

May was the 12th month, and the 1 year anniversary of  the GBP Peer to Peer Lending Portfolio! It produced over £1000 income for the 2nd month

The Elephant in the Room – Lendy Collapses – My Thoughts.

The Elephant in the Room - Lendy Collapses - My Thoughts.

I feel like I need to mention the Lendy (Saving Stream) situation as everyone is up in arms about this "sudden collapse" on May 24th 2019? This is just my opinion based on the (very limited) experience I had when considering investing with Lendy.

Ablrate Review

Ablrate Review

Ablrate is a smaller size, UK based Peer to Peer lender.  Providing loans mostly to businesses on a selection of interesting assets from private jets and power generating stations, to property development and bridging loans.

Leave a comment